Cauliflower pizza crust [recipe review]

IMG_20140630_210613

“Hmmm, okay this is definitely almond flour crust,” my husband said taking his first bite from the pizza.

“Nope, guess again,” I replied.

“Quinoa?”

“What? Quinoa? No! It’s cauliflower!”

Totally stumped my husband on this recipe. He even complimented me saying it tasted very similar to the take out pizza we get sometimes from Whole Foods. Cauliflower pizza’s are in vogue these days. There are tons of recipes you can find online that use cauliflower as the base and a lot of them require a a number of steps. I used Detoxinista’s recipe after reading all the rave reviews.

IMG_20140630_205429

A word of caution – the recipe does take some time to prepare! You have to process the cauliflower, steam it, wring it, bake… and then bake again. Though it’s worth it in the end cause you get one delicious pizza without the high carb content! My husband who is usually a bit skeptical of grain free recipes really enjoyed the pizza and said he would definitely like it if I made more in the future.

IMG_20140630_200139

Tip # 1 – Make sure you use two cauliflower heads and make extra crust which you can freeze for later. If you’re going to go through all the effort of making one you may as well have another pizza in the freezer for days when you’re not in the mood to cook.

I also found that the recipe portions mentioned by Detoxinista did not yield the same sized pizza that she made even though I used identical amounts of cauliflower. You might want to use a huge cauliflower head for this.

Tip # 2 – For the wringing part make sure you use a good quality fine cloth. I used an excellent cheese cloth by Norpro – I bought it based from recommendations on Amazon and it’s very inexpensive. Even though I squeezed so much moisture out of the cauliflower I did not once feel like it would tear or give out.

Norpro

 

I topped my pizza with organic pizza sauce, a mixture of cheddar and mozzarella, mushrooms, red bell peppers, and olives. This cauliflower pizza is one of the tastiest grain free recipes I’ve made up until this point. So if you’re in the mood for a pizza recipe that will not make you feel bloated for days and tastes really close to the real deal then definitely give this a try!

 

 

One thought on “Cauliflower pizza crust [recipe review]

Leave a comment