Grain free Spinach Quiche

Hello fellow travellers,

I’ve been doing a lot of research into grain-free and gluten free over the past few months. I’m slowly lowering my grain intake because I’ve found that too much grain causes unwanted digestive issues in my body. I’ve read tons on the Paleo diet and other low-carb, high-fat diets.

IMG_5791

I try to incorporate more meats, vegetables, and fruits in my diet and leave out the starch and sugar. So far so good. I was able to find this recipe for a grain free coconut flour pie crust from Coconut Mama. I didn’t make any changes to the recipe since this was my first time trying a grain free crust.

I would say the crust did not turn out as delicious as I expected. It fluffed rather well but overpowered the taste of the quiche. I could taste more crust than egg. Which is why next time I’ll make a thinner crust since coconut flour tends to swell up after baking.

IMG_5810

Overall it was a different experience but also tasty!

Ingredients for Quiche filling

1/2 a large onion, chopped

1 cup fresh spinach

3/4 cup bell peppers, chopped (use different colors)

1 tbsp coconut oil

1 cup cheddar cheese, shredded

5 eggs

1 cup milk

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. After preparing pie crust, press it into a 9 inch pie dish.
  2. In a pan, heat coconut oil and fry onions till translucent, then add chopped bell peppers and spinach. Let spinach wilt and soften.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk eggs, milk, salt, pepper, and cheese together.
  4. Spoon spinach mixture into a pie plate and then pour egg mixture on top. Bake for 30-40 minutes. I checked mine at the 30 minute mark and the cheese still burnt a little so keep a close eye.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

