Kitchen Counter Essentials – Cuisinart Citrus Juicer

Hi all,

I’m starting a new series on my blog on kitchen essentials – appliances, food tools, and pantry staples. I will post every Monday on a KCE. The first kitchen counter essential I want to write about is a citrus juicer. I have a food processor that had a citrus juicer attachment but in one of our apartment moves the juicer piece ended up misplaced. I juiced on almost a daily basis and really missed it these past few months!

ccj-500

I was looking for a good citrus juicer ever since. After scouring through reviews on the interwebs I settled on the Cuisinart CC-500 citrus juicer with 3 pulp control settings. You can get more technical details on amazon. The price of the juicer is very affordable and I got it on sale from Sears for $31.

So far I love the juicer. I made my first glass of fresh orange juice and poured it all into the batter for my orange blueberry muffins. The pulp control options are great for people who either love or hate pulp. I found cleaning a bit of nuisance (well, come on, who likes doing the dishes anyways?). There are about three parts that need to be washed thoroughly.

IMG_5609

Tall glass of orange juice

I’ve used two pulp settings until now, which can be easily switched on top of the juicer. All pulp and no pulp. I found that the no pulp setting needed additional stopping so I could clean out some of the pulp from the attachment and continue juicing.

On Travel Sized Bites, I believe in using the best and freshest ingredients and a citrus juicer is a great investment for anyone considering a healthier option than store bought juices (that claim to be fresh and not from concentrate but this article proves otherwise). Overall the juicer is great for the price and handy for those days when I really just want a nice glass of orange grapefruit juice.

Extra ice please.

Rating

Easy to use – 5/5

Easy to clean – 3/5

Price – 4/5

All my reviews, opinions, and everything expressed here are my own and based on my experience with a product. I am not affiliated with any of the brands mentioned on my blog nor do I endorse them and they do not endorse me. I am not paid for my reviews.  Anything discussed on this site is expressed as my own opinion and I reserve the right to my own opinion when discussing restaurant reviews, products, or anything else. 

6 thoughts on “Kitchen Counter Essentials – Cuisinart Citrus Juicer

  1. Oooh never heard of this particular juicer from cuisinart before! I recommend the Cuisinart hot/cold blender for smoothies, drinks, purees and even hot soups! Highest wattage you can find is important (ours is 900w) as it helps with bigger food items, esp. frozen stuff. Easy to rinse out after each use with hot, hot water and many dishwasher safe parts. Comes with handy dandy blade brush too so no ouchies. Love juicing and making healthy fruit smoothies with it! Just wish it were more compact somehow as it takes up counter space and I like my counters to look clean, decluttered and bare! Your juicer however, looks like it would be easy to store and not so much of an eyesore! I think I’m going to love this series of posts iA! Cool stuff!

    • Wow, sounds like an awesome tool. I also have a Cusinart immersion blender (which I’ll review next iA) and its a lifesaver for chopping onions and tomatoes (since we do lots of Pakistani cooking :P). I’m glad you’re liking the series and thanks for your comment 🙂

  2. Congratulations!!!

    I think you are a fantastic blogger, therefore, I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award Nomination.

    Please visit my blog where you will see your nomination – Hooray, Congratulations and Celebrations!!! http://laurieslovelyliving.com/2013/08/01/versatile-bloggers-nominations/

    There are five rules you will need to follow. You will find these rules in Part I of my versatile blogger post at http://laurieslovelyliving.com/2013/07/27/i-am-a-versatile-blogger-or-so-ive-been-told/

    If you have already have this award then take this as a sign your blog rocks. If you don’t already have this award then take this as a sign your blog rocks. Either way, YOU rock!!

    Keep up the fantastic work!!

    Love, Laurie

    http://www.LauriesLovelyLiving.com

  3. We juice 1-2 litres of orange juice at a time. I tried the Cuisinart Citrus Juicer CCJ-500C only once. The juicer has 3 pulp settings (low/med/hi) to control how “pulpy” you want your juice. My wife prefers lots of pulp so I set it to hi.

    Juicing the first 4-5 oranges was a breeze. However the bigger chunks and pieces were starting to clog the drain pores. By then any more juice was floating in the juicer. This particular model boasts a spin feature whereby the motor spins all the seeds or leftover pulp to the sides. It actually makes matters worse. Using this feature actually ends up clogging the spout with all the leftover stuff. I ended using a strainer to manually remove the leftover which still had so much juice left in it. Albeit, cleaning up was not a hassle. The base tray, strainer and extracting bulb come apart smoothly and are easy to clean.

    Verdict:
    It’s good looks and clean finish do not make up for the inefficiency in juicing high amounts. If you juice 4-5 oranges at a time then this juicer may work for you. Otherwise skip this juicer. I’m still researching other options and the closest i can find may be the TriBest Citrus 1000 or perhaps a manual high quality citrus press.

    • I think the juicer is good for two people who want one-three glasses of juice in one sitting not 1-2 litres. Otherwise, you are better off getting a higher end juicer but for the price, this is a great low budget option for people who want to switch to fresh citrus juicing.

Leave a Reply

