Roadie Bites: Acacia Mediterranean Restaurant

Hello my fellow travellers,

Let me first begin by introducing my new series called Roadie Bites that takes a new spin on restaurant reviewing. If you’ve read some of my other reviews on Affy’s or Udupi, you might’ve noticed the awesome quality photographs and more details on a wide array of dishes.

Roadie Bites sort of does the opposite. Basically, it’s take out from a restaurant I’ve never tried, my cellphone camera, and my raw thoughts.

I’ve decided to begin with Acacia restaurant, which I happened to try last week on a whim. I pass Acacia on almost a daily basis as I head to class and was always intrigued by the store front. After Dine Halal’s alert on facebook on Acacia, I wanted to try a new Mediterranean cuisine restaurant (other than the same old Paramount).

Trust me, I was not disappointed!

Image

The restaurant is massive and the decor is pleasant with an interspersal of glimmering chandeliers and pastel coloured walls. I think we’re going to dine in next time just to get a feel of the service. We ordered two shawarmas (like what else do you get from an Mediterranean restaurant?). One beef, one chicken.

I’m the kind of gal who likes everything in my shawarma, no holds barred. Pickles, tomatoes, extra garlic, extra hummus, and french fries. Honestly, don’t ever have your shawarma again without french fries. You will not regret it!

So we waited at least 15 minutes for our order (wait time was sort of bad) because a bunch of other people came in after us. I jokingly told my husband that they all followed us in since they knew we were coming.

We got our order and headed to Credit Woodlands park that is one light away from Acacia. We were both famished and I could not wait to bite into my chicken shawarma.

First thought?

Delicious! They really went far and beyond with the hummus and garlic sauce and other fillings. The chicken was tender and juicy. My husband’s beef shawarma was equally appetizing and glistening with parsley, tomatoes, and a load of french fries. I usually don’t order beef because the meat is very chewy but the Acacia beef was soft and pillowy.

So with any type of food, you can’t help but compare it to another restaurant where you’ve tried the same dish. Our conclusion — Acacia’s shawarma tasted better than Paramount.

I’ve had a lot of Paramount (the bonafide Mid-East cuisine place according to most in the GTA) since we moved to Mississauga but these past few months the sandwich tasted dryer (the chicken was not juicy) and almost chalk-like, which is why I was pleasantly surprised after eating at Acacia.

Their pricing is also very affordable with one shawarma sandwich for $5.

I honestly wasn’t expecting much. Just the usual Mid-Eastern cuisine fan-fare. Now I’m happy to have tried Acacia, even if on a whim, and can’t wait to go back.

If you tried (or plan to try) Acacia, let me know what you think?

My rating: 4.5 bites out of 5

Acacia is located on

1170 Burnhamthorpe Rd West, Unit 18

Mississauga, ON

L5C 4E6

One thought on “Roadie Bites: Acacia Mediterranean Restaurant

Leave a Reply

