Review time! Zaytoun Grill

Hello fellow travellers,

Today I had the opportunity of dining at Zaytoun Grill and Restaurant located in the heart of Mississauga with a group of wonderful friends. I thought I would review it for my readers who would love to try out a new place (or for those who have already been to Zaytoun but want to try something new)

Zaytoun means olive in Arabic. However, Zaytoun’s menu goes beyond the famous Mediterranean olive and serves up a lot more scrumptious dishes. All items on the menu are 100% halal. Yay!

Image

We arrived around 15 minutes after opening so the place was, as expected, empty. Strategic of us! We were a crowd of seven and were seated right away. I’ve been here before on busier nights and unfortunately service is, as expected, a lot slower. I went to Zaytoun on New Years and found the wait terrible for our food but the server made up for it by giving us a slice of cheesecake on the house. I thought that was nice. Anyways, getting back to today. The restaurant was lit up and clean. My friends particularly liked the ambience.

Image

The view from our table

 Then it came to ordering. Since it was the first time for the rest of the company it took us 10 minutes to decide our order but the server checked up on us frequently.

We finally decided on the Philly cheesesteak with yam fries and regular fries and chicken penne arabiata. Both excellent choices.

Image

Chicken Penne Arabiata

The pasta was ordered by another friend in the group and she loved it so much she ordered a takeout box for her family at home (per their request :p). The penne is tossed in grilled chicken, fresh garlic, ricotta cheese, and spicy tomato sauce. Honestly, the chicken was so soft and juicy. The sauce with hints of garlic and spices complimented the ensemble.

The portion may look small but once you start digging to the bottom of the bowl you realize that there is enough pasta for three people!

I give this dish a 4.5 out of 5 forks.

Image

Philly Cheesesteak with yam fries and some tasty chipotle mayo sauce

I am and always will be a Philly cheesesteak gal! I love Zaytoun’s cheesesteak and I usually order this just to get a side of yam fries and the sauce. Which are in their own right pretty awesome.

The cheesesteak is made with new york cut steak mixed with sautéed caramelized onions and cheese served on a French baguette. Today the sandwich tasted a bit dry but when I dipped it into the mayo chipotle I was in food heaven! Every bite was juicy and oh so cheesy goodness.

I love the yam fries that go on side with the sauce but my only problem is that they get soggy rather quickly if they become cold. So they’re best eaten hot.

Image

Are you hungry yet?

Philly cheesesteak with regular fries

So surprisingly, I liked the regular fries better today than yam fries. They were a lot crispier and had some sort of garlic seasoning on them that paired amazingly with the chipotle sauce.

Philly Cheesesteak with fries and sauce – 4.0 out of 5 forks

Now down to pricing – Zaytoun dishes are a bit pricey. Most of the main course meals are above $10. This is one of those once in a while restaurants I like to visit to get my cheesesteak fix.

Overall, we had a wonderful time at Zaytoun Grill. There is nothing better than good company and good food to keep the palate happy.

Zaytoun grill is located on:4230 Sherwoodtowne Blvd.
Mississauga , Ontario, Canada
L4Z 2G6905.272.5357
4 thoughts on “Review time! Zaytoun Grill

  1. I’ve actually always wanted to try Philly Cheese Steak sandwiches, they look so gooey and appetizing. Never thought the Zaytoun had them- I might just get the fam together for a visit to the Zaytoun Grill so I could try some!

Leave a Reply

