GFR: Chocolate Chip Pancakes

Hello my fellow travellers!

What is GFR?

Grain-free and gluten-free!

Not sure if this will become another segment on my blog but I thought I would share with you my doublexGF recipe of these delicious, homemade, wholesome pancakes.

I’m not big on grain-free/gluten free but whenever I can make something GF, I do. Grain-free flours include coconut flour, almond meal/flour, etc.

Image

Look how cute they are!

Recipe

These make about 4-5 medium sized pancakes.

1/4 cup coconut flour

2 eggs

1/4 cup milk + a litte more to make batter thinner

2 tsp organic cane sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/4-1/2 cup gluten-free chocolate chips (Enjoy Life! brand)

Instructions

  1. Whisk eggs in bowl and slowly incorporate flour. You might get a thick, sticky batter, which is when you add the milk slowly till you get a nice thin batter (it won’t be soupy but neither should it be clumpy)
  2. Add sugar, salt, cinnamon, and baking powder and mix well. Fold in chocolate chips.
  3. Heat griddle on medium heat and drop 1/2 tbsp of coconut oil till griddle is well covered. Scoop pancake batter with a 1/4 cup and cook on griddle. You should see bubbles form on the top of the pancake, meaning its ready to flip.

Note: Coconut flour has a higher fiber content than wheat flour and absorbs liquids faster, which is why the batter may not seem as runny as ordinary wheat pancake batter.

Another note on pancake flipping. I’ve had instances where I thought the pancake was ready to flip and it broke up on me. It also depends on how thick your batter is. I like to use a large spatula and small straight spatula to flip without breaking.

Finally, this recipe can be enjoyed with virtually anything. Fresh fruits, whip cream, or a glass of milk. The possibilities are endless. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “GFR: Chocolate Chip Pancakes

  1. I think you forgot to put milk in your ingredient list–you have the 1/4 cup + a little more but I had to go down to the directs to find out it was milk.
    But the recipe looks easy and I will have to try them sometime! Thank you for posting it!

Leave a Reply

