Special Strawberry Milk Shake

IMG_7015

Okay, to those people who might say this is not a legitimate recipe let me tell you why it is! This milkshake is not made with milk. I mean ‘fake’ milk. Like the homogenized, ultra-pasteurized stuff you get from the regular grocery stores that tastes watered-down. Here’s a little story as to why I can’t chug down regular milk anymore. When I visited Pakistan and Bangladesh this past summer, I got a taste of REAL milk. As in fresh from the cow’s udder, warm in the pateela (pot), with extra cream that tasted sooooo good with Rooh-afza (rose syrup that you generously dolop into a glass of milk or water but who goes with water!).

Then when I came back to Canada I realized I was spoiled! I could taste the difference between fresh cows milk and ‘fake’ cows milk immediately. In the process of pasteurization, the whey and curd are separated so all the creamy, deliciousness of the milk is udderly destroyed (he-he, I had to!). Then after a visit to our local halal organic grocery store, we found out they sold UN-pasteurized milk on special order. As in the cream is still in the packet after pouring the milk into a cup. Sometimes the cream even just plops out into the cup and tastes so amazing! It’s almost like butter. I’m sure you could make it into butter with enough quantity.

Anyways to get back to the point as to why this milkshake is special: I made it with the unpasteurized milk and I must say, I have never had such an amazing milkshake before. Generally, any kind of ice cream is added to give the milkshake a real thickety thick flavor but this did not need any substitutions because of the extra cream from the milk itself. So it’s healthy too!

Here’s the recipe:

5-6 strawberries (soaked in hot water for a few minutes to take off any dirt)

1/2 L of unpasteurized milk

2 1/2 tablespoons of sugar (more if you prefer a sweeter milkshake)

Instrucción

  1. Throw the strawberries into a blender.
  2. Add the milk
  3. Add the sugar
  4. Blend. Vamanos, vamanos, vamanos

That’s all. Simple dimple.

Enjoy

Leave a Reply

